STAAR for High School (EOC)

The STAAR EOC (End-of Course) assessments will test a high school student’s mastery of the Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS) for a given course, and determine college and career readiness.

Students who enrolled in 9th grade in the 2011-2012 or after are required to take STAAR EOC assessments. If a student is enrolled in grade 8 or below and is taking a course for which there is a STAAR EOC assessment, that student will be required to take the applicable STAAR EOC assessment.

STAAR Testing Dates: 

Click here for the TEA website STAAR test dates

STAAR for Unique Student Populations

The STAAR test is available in a variety of formats to serve students who are in the general education program, the special education program or who are English language learners (ELL).

  • STAAR EOC: Regular STAAR EOC assessment for students in the general education program

  • STAAR EOC L: For English Language Learners who require a linguistically accommodated STAAR

  • STAAR EOC Alternate: For students receiving special education services who have a significant cognitive disability

Time Limits

There is a four-hour time limit for the Algebra I, Biology, and U.S. History EOC exams, and a five-hour time limit for English I & II. These time limits should provide sufficient time for the majority of students to complete the test. The rationale for time limits aligns Texas testing practices with timed national assessments, i.e. SAT, ACTand AP examinations. Extended time accommodations for students with unique learning needs will be offered.


Student Performance Standards

Please refer to the TEA website for current student performance guidelines using this link.

STAAR performance standards relate levels of test performance to the expectations defined in the state-mandated curriculum standards known as the Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS).  Cut scores established by the agency distinguish between performance levels, or categories.  The process of establishing cut scores that define performance levels for an assessment is standard setting. Standard setting is also used to classify students into an appropriate performance category. 

For STAAR and STAAR Spanish, the labels for the performance categories are:

  • Masters Grade Level
  • Meets Grade Level
  • Approaches Grade Level
  • Did Not Meet Grade Level

 Acceleration for Unsatisfactory Standard

Students performing at the Unsatisfactory level (Level I) will be provided accelerated instruction before the next administration of the test.

EOC Substitute Assessments

In accordance with the Texas Education Code (TEC), §39.025(a-1), the commissioner of eduation adopted certain assessments as substitute assessments that a student may use in place of a corresponding end-of-course (EOC) assessment under the TEC, §39.023(c), to meet the student's assessment graduation requirements. An approved substitute assessment may be used in place of only one specific EOC assessment.

A student is eligible to use a substitute assessment as provided in the chart from the link below:

  • (1) a student was administered an approved substitute assessment for an equivalent course in which the student was enrolled; and
  • (2) a student received a satisfactory score on the substitute assessment as determined by the commissioner and provided in the chart in subsection (b) of this section.

A student electing to substitute an assessment for graduation purposes must still take the corresponding EOC assessment required under the TEC, §39.023(c), unless the student met the requirements specified in 1 and 2 above.

A student who fails to perform satisfactorily on the PSAT or the ACT-PLAN as indicated in the chart (click on the link below) of this section must take the appropriate end-of-course assessment required under the TEC, §39.023(c), to meet the assessment graduation requirements for that subject.

Click Here for the EOC Substitute Assessments - Standards Chart

Graduation Requirements

  • Students graduating in 2014 will continue to take TAKS as part of their graduation requirement.
  • The class of 2015 will be the first class to undergo four years of EOC testing.
  • For further information, visit the State Graduation Requirements webpage.