Risk Management - Internal
Safety is of primary importance in our operation. Each of us has the responsibility to make the safety of the students, our co-workers, and ourselves a basic concern. This objective is fundamental to our wellbeing, as well as to the efficient operation of our school district.
Safety rules alone cannot prevent accidents. The indispensable ingredient of a safe working environment is individuals that are dedicated to the principle that accident prevention is an essential part of the planning and efficient execution of every job.
The Mesquite Independent School District recognizes its responsibility to provide healthful and safe working conditions, safe working rules based upon experience and safety knowledge, and competent work direction.
Motor Vehicle Report
A driver's license check is required for all employees before they are authorized to drive a district vehicle. An applicant's past driving record prior to employment must be obtained. This record check includes all convictions that result in mandatory suspension of a driver's license. The Risk Management Department will obtain the motor vehicle record from the Texas Department of Public Safety.
All district drivers shall possess a valid Texas driver’s license and be at least 21 years of age. The exception to the age requirement (under age 21) will be permanent year round employees. Each driver's motor vehicle record shall be evaluated annually.
A driver that has been excluded from coverage by the district's auto insurance company shall be ineligible to drive a district vehicle. Any person who has a DWI/DUI listed on their driving record shall not be eligible to drive for Mesquite ISD if the offense has occurred within 10 years of the MVR check/review date.
Pre-Employement Motor Vehicle Record Standards
- Any person who has three or more moving violations in the previous three-year period shall not be eligible to drive for the district.
- Any person who has a DWI/DUI listed on their driving record shall not be eligible to drive for Mesquite ISD if the offense has occurred within 10 years of the MVR check/review date.
Defensive Driving Requirements
- All Mesquite ISD employees (including bus drivers) that are eligible to drive district vehicles shall complete an approved defensive driving course within 90 days of employment or driving eligibility.
- Employees must then complete this requirement every three years. For bus drivers only, this requirement is met by attending the Region 10 bus driver re-certification course.
- All Mesquite ISD drivers will receive and sign off on the Fleet Safety Program manual (the form will be filed with the employees MVR in the Risk Management Department).
Bus Driver Requirements
- Must have a commercial driver's license with a passenger endorsement if the driver drives a vehicle designed to seat more than 15 persons, including the driver.
- Must successfully complete Region 10's bus driver training program (20 hours).
- Every three years a bus driver re-certification course must be taken through Region 10 (8 hours).
- Driver's license records will be evaluated before employment and at least annually while employed as a bus driver. Any person who has accumulated ten (10) or more penalty points shall be considered ineligible to transport pupils until such time as he/she may become qualified. Penalty points will be based on those established by the Texas Department of Public Safety rule Title 37, Texas Administrative Code, 14.14.
Mesquite Independent School District • 3819 Towne Crossing Blvd
- What is Worker's Compensation
- What to Do When Injured on the Job
- Employee Quick Reference Guide to Worker's Compensation
- TASB Alliance Medical Network
- Related Links
Workers' Compensation is a State-Regulated Insurance Program that:
- Pays reasonable medical costs if you are injured on the job
- May pay income benefits to replace part of the wages you lose because of an on-the-job injury
- Pays income benefits if you have a permanent impairment from an on-the-job injury and
- Pays death benefits to your legal beneficiaries if you are killed on the job
Workers' compensation will replace 70% or 75% of an employee's lost wages, depending on hourly rate, if the injury or illness causes the employee to lose all of his/her income for more than seven days. An employee becomes eligible for Temporary Income Benefits (TIB) on the eighth day that a work-related injury or illness causes the employee to lose all of his/her usual pay.
An employee, injured in the scope of his/her employment, will be allowed to use his/her state personal business days to supplement his/her workers' compensation Temporary Income Benefits until those state personal business days are exhausted.
An employee shall report an on-the-job injury to his/her supervisor by the conclusion of the work day. The affected school or department must report all on-the-job injuries and/or work-related illnesses to the MISD Risk Management Department 972-882-5561 within 24 hours.
Due to the State of Texas requirements for punctual reporting of on-the-job injuries and work-related illnesses, it is imperative that such incidents be reported promptly and accurately. Failure to report may result in substantial fines assessed against the Mesquite ISD by the Texas Workers' Compensation System.
ALL on-the-job injuries and/or work-related illnesses must be reported by the affected school or department to the MISD Risk Management Department by the conclusion of the next work day after the supervisor, principal, or department manager has knowledge of such illness or injury.
What is Workers’ Compensation (WC)?
It is a State-regulated insurance program that pays reasonable and necessary medical costs if an employee has a compensable on-the-job injury.
When am I required to report an injury?
Per district policy, any injury, whether the employee seeks medical treatment or not, should be reported to the supervisor by the conclusion of the workday. Completion of a First Report of Injury is required.
How do I submit a First Report of injury?
All secretaries have a First Report of Injury template. The form is also available on Docushare or in the Forms Section of the district website Complete the form and return to the secretary, who will submit to Risk Management.
Why am I required to obtain treatment through the Texas Association of School Board (TASB) Alliance Medical Network?
Under the Workers’ Compensation Act, insurance companies are permitted to mandate that all injured employees seek medical treatment through their approved Medical Network. There is no guarantee of payment when electing to treat outside of the Network and the employee could be responsible for all charges.
How much does WC pay if I am unable to work?
If the injury prevents the employee from returning to work, the employee is eligible for WC weekly income benefits after the absence exceeds seven (7) calendar days. The benefit will begin on the eighth (8th) day of missed work. WC will replace 70% to 75% of average weekly wage, depending on hourly rate. The maximum temporary income benefit (10-01-17 thru 09-30-18) is $913.00 per week.
How does being off work affect my paycheck from MISD?
If the employee is unable to work, MISD Policy 420 allows employees to use personal leave days to supplement workers’ compensation income benefits. If the employee has exhausted all personal leave days or if they elect not to use them, the employee will be docked their full daily rate. However, they will receive WC temporary income benefits as specified above.
If the employee elects to use personal days to supplement WC income benefits, the combination of personal days and WC income benefits may not exceed 100% of their regular salary.
Why do I have to use my own local/state days when I am injured at work?
Mesquite ISD operates on tax dollars (public funds). MISD can only pay employees for days they are physically at work, unless the employee exchanges a personal day for the absence.
What about follow-up medical treatment due to my injury?
WC benefits are not paid for time-off needed to attend follow-up care (i.e. physical therapy, doctor re-checks). Most workers’ compensation medical providers will accommodate an after-work appointment. Again, Mesquite ISD can only pay employees for time they are physically at work.
Why does MISD promote working safely?
An on-the-job injury disrupts job routine, interrupts personal life, can adversely affect health and could reduce income.
A complete list of TASB Alliance Network physicians may be found at www.pswca.org.
Urgent Care Facilities
972-303-3030 | 565 West I-30 | Garland 75043
HOURS: Monday - Friday 8 a.m. - 10 p.m.; Saturday 8 a.m. - 8 p.m.; Sunday 9 a.m. - 5.p.m.
Concentra Medical Center
214-328-1400 | 928 Samuell Blvd. | Mesquite 75149
HOURS: Monday - Friday 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Primacare Medical Center
972-686-1881 | 1280 Town East Blvd. | Mesquite 75150
HOURS: Monday - Friday 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.; Saturday & Sunday 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Prescription (Rx) Information
To have your injury-related prescriptions filled, present your OPTUM First Fill card and prescription to the pharmacist. Most pharmacies, including all major chains, are included in the network: ►Walgreens ►CVS ►Rite Aid ►Walmart ►Target
Call 1-866-599-5426 for additional pharmacies within our area.
Mesquite ISD does not endorse any specific care facility. These are merely provided as a courtesy identifying providers located in our geographical area.